Student teacher enjoying small-school experience

Ava Meinhardt | editor in chief

This semester, English teacher Brendan Praeger has a student teacher for all of his classes. 

Rayne Rekoske, a senior at Kansas State University, plans on being an English and journalism teacher. She graduated from Maize High School in 2020. 

“I’ve been in like five 6A schools in my whole life, so I wanted to get some experience in a smaller school, just to learn how smaller schools might do things differently,” Rekoske said. 

Wabaunsee was Rekoske’s top pick for a school to student teach at. 

“I think it’s really cute, and I like the community you guys have,” Rekoske said. 

Rayne Rekoske teaches freshman English at the beginning of the semester. Rekoske will teach Brendan Praeger’s English, journalism and drama classes this semester as a student teacher from K-State.

Having big school experience, she felt there were many differences from the different size schools. “In a small school I think that teachers might get connected and know their students a lot better than in a big school,” Rekoske said. 

Outside of school and teaching, Rekoske has many things she likes to do. 

“I like to spend time with my friends, stay home, hang out with my dog, and watch movies,” Rekoske said. She is also a big fan of older romcoms like “How to Lose a Guy in 10 days,” and “The Proposal.” 

Rekoske is very excited to start teaching. “High school is where I wanted to be, especially for the journalism aspect. I’m very excited to student teach at Wabaunsee and get the experience,” Rekoske said. 

Praeger said he is excited to have another teacher in the classroom. “I think it’s a great experience for the students to have another teacher in the room, and it helps me reflect on what I do as I help someone new get into teaching. She’s doing a great job so far.”

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑